Tag Archives: Xavier Rudd

Song Of The Day

Xavier Rudd & Izintaba – “Time To Smile”

I’ve been LOVING this new tune from Xavier Rudd and Izintaba. It sounds like these three musicians have a lot of chemistry together and really have a grasp on their reggae/world sound. I’m psyched to listen to the rest of their new album, Koonyum Sun (out now). Below, check out the video for “Time To Smile”. It’s one of the tunes I’ll play on my ‘warm weather’ Hot Seat tonight at 9pm. Tune in at mvyradio.com

Xavier Rudd

1 Comment

Filed under Song Of The Day

mvyradio HOT SEAT

Especially here on the Vineyard, Memorial Day weekend is the unofficial start of summer. I’m taking the Hot Seat on Monday night – an hour on mvyradio where the host gets to play something a little different…anything they want. I decided to play music that I love listening to when it’s beautiful and sunny outside… summertime tunes…warm weather artists. Here’s my playlist:

Michael Franti – “Sound Of Sunshine”
311 – “Speak Easy”
Guster – “Careful”
The Strokes – “You Only Live Once”
Jack Johnson – “You And Your Heart”
Grateful Dead – “Shakedown Street”
Frightened Rabbit – “Swim Until You Can’t See Land”
Bob Marley – “Easy Skanking”
Xavier Rudd – “Time To Smile”
Trombone Shorty – “Something Beautiful”
Toots and the Maytals – “54-46 Was My Number”
Sublime – “DJs”
Galactic feat. Irma Thomas – “Heart Of Steel”
Vampire Weekend – “Giving Up The Gun”
Spoon – “The Underdog”


Leave a comment

Filed under Check it out, mvyradio

NEW Music Preview

It seems The National will not disappoint with their follow-up to The Boxer while Troy Andrews (Trombone Shorty) is getting some seriously deserved attention with his new album Backatown. Xavier Rudd has had a musical and spiritual awakening with help from his new band (Izintaba), and Jesse Malin just rocks! Check out my 2 and 1/2 minute preview of these great new albums:

Artists featured in this NEW Music Preview:
The National
Trombone Shorty
Xavier Rudd & Izintaba
Jesse Malin

**More NEW Music Previews

Leave a comment

Filed under Audio Blog, NEW Music, NEW Music Previews